top of page

Adidas Originals ZX Flux 2.0

Adidas-zx-flux-2.0-Black-3.jpg

I'll be the first to admit...I'm not a fan of the ZX Flux. Considered a rival to the Nike Roshe Run with simplicity in its stylings, I believe it doesn't come close to acheiving this, despite its popularity (believe me I work in Lifestyle, all I hear is "Heor mate, wheres your ZX Flux??"). For these reasons, I never reviewed the original ZX Flux but I'll go straight to the 2.0.

The ZX Flux was re-released in January of this year to much acclaim and Adidas have created so many colourways it's hard to keep up with. Created with a seamless mesh upper, designed so adidas would have unlimited customisation options, the ZX Flux holds onto some of the ZX 8000 original features. Finished with a torsion bar and heel counter, the sneaker tries to keep a simplistic style, not veering too far from the norm even with its weave version and soon to be released MiAdidas feature, where customisation will reach a whole new level of personilisation.

Adidas-zx-flux-2.0-grey-3.jpg

With the 2.0, Adidas has got rid of the heel counter and has added an overlay for the lace eyelets and to add an extra texture to the seamless nature of the shoe.

I'll finish with a summary of why, even though the ZX Flux has hit the ground running and will probably finish the year as the most popular shoe, it still ain't for me. It claims to rival the Roshe Run yet the sole in itself features cuts and extrusions that seem to have no reason to be there, something a generic retailer might include in their shoes as to not infringe on copyright. Yes the shoe features endless sillhouettes but I beleive this contributes to the shoe losing its identity as a result. This means in a couple of years someone may ask "Do you remember the ZX Flux?" and you may answer "Which one?".

You wouldn't get that with a pair of Jordans.

A.

Share this article:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey

Tags

No tags yet.

Archive

bottom of page